## Meeting of Political Consultative Committee of Warsaw Treaty Member-States<sup>1</sup>

A regular meeting of the Political Consultative Committee of the Warsaw Treaty member-states opened here today. The meeting is attended;

From the People's Republic of Bulgaria – by General Secretary of the Central Committee of the Bulgarian Communist Party, President of the State Council of the People's Republic of Bulgaria Todor Zhivkov, the head of the delegation; member of the Political Bureau of the Central Committee of the Bulgarian Communist Party, Chairman of the Council of Ministers Grisha Filipov; Member of the Political Bureau of the Central Committee of the Bulgarian Communist Party, Minister of National Defense Dobri Dzhurov; member of the Political Bureau of the Central Committee of the Bulgarian Communist Party, Foreign Minister Petur Mladenov; Secretary of the Party Central Committee Dimitur Stanishev;

From the Hungarian People's Republic – by First Secretary of the Central Committee of the Hungarian Socialist Workers' Party János Kádár, the head of the delegation; member of the Political Bureau of the Central Committee of the Hungarian Socialist Workers' Party, Chairman of the Council of Ministers Győrgy Lázár; Secretary of the Party Central Committee Peter Varkonyi; member of the Party Central Committee, Defense Minister Lajos Czinege; member of the Party Central Committee, Foreign Minister Frigyes Puja;

From the Cerman Democratic Republic – by General Secretary of the Central Committee of the Socialist Unity Party of Germany, chairman of the Council of State of the GDR Erich Honecker, the head of the delegation; member of the Political Bureau of the Central Committee of the Socialist Unity Party of Germany, Chairman of the Council of Ministers Willi Stoph; member of the Political Bureau, Secretary of the Party Central Committee Hermann Axen; member of the Political Bureau of the Party Central Committee, Minister of National Defense Heinz Hoffmann; member of the Political Bureau, Secretary of the Party Central Committee Günter Mittag; member of the Party Central Committee, Foreign Minister Oskar Fischer;

From the Polish People's Republic – by First Secretary of the Central Committee of the Polish United Workers' Party, Chairman of the Council of Ministers of the Polish People's Republic Wojciech Jaruzelski, the head of the delegation; member of the Political Bureau, Secretary of the Party Central Committee Józef Czyrek; member of the Political Bureau of the Party Central Committee, Foreign Minister Stefan Olszowski; alternate member of the Political Bureau of the Party Central Committee, Deputy Minister of National Defense, Chief of General Staff of the Polish Army Florian Siwicki;

From the Socialist Republic of Romania – by General Secretary of the Romanian Communist Party, President of the Socialist Republic of Romania Nicolae Ceauşescu, the head of the delegation; member of the Political Executive Committee of the Party Central Committee, Prime Minister of the Government Constantin Dăscălescu; alternate member

\_

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Source: Foreign Broadcast Information Service, *Daily Report, Soviet Union*, 5 January 1983, USSR International Affairs, Communist Relations, pp. BB 1 – BB 2. Press release LD041833 from Moscow TASS in English, 1819 GMT on 4 January 1983.

of the Political Executive Committee, Secretary of the Party Central Committee Miu Dobrescu; alternate member of the Political Executive Committee of the Party Central Committee, Foreign Minister Stefan Andrei; alternate member of the Political Executive Committee of the Party Central Committee, Minister of National Defense Constantin Olteanu;

From the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics – by General Secretary of the CPSU Central Committee Yuri Andropov, the head of the delegation; member of the Political Bureau of the CPSU Central Committee, chairman of the Council of Ministers of the USSR Nikolai Tikhonov; member of the Political Bureau of the CPSU Central Committee, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the USSR Andrei Gromyko; member of the. Political Bureau of the CPSU Central Committee, Defense Minister of the USSR, Marshal of the Soviet Union Dmitrii Ustinov; Secretary of the CPSU Central Committee Konstantin Rusakov;

From the Czechoslovak Socialist Republic – by General Secretary of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of Czechoslovakia, President of the Czechoslovak Socialist Republic Gustav Husák, the head of the delegation; member of the Presidium of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of Czechoslovakia, Chairman of the Government Lubomir Štrougal; member of the Presidium, Secretary of the Party Central Committee Vasil Bilak; member of the Presidium, Secretary of the Party Central Committee Miloš Jakeš; member of the party Central Committee, Foreign Minister Bohuslav Chňoupek; member of the party Central Committee, Minister of National Defense, Army General Martin Dzur.

The meeting was opened by Gustav Husák who cordially welcomed the delegations of the fraternal countries.

The participants in the meeting observed a minute of silence in memory of Leonid Il'ich Brezhnev.

The first session was chaired by the head of the delegation of the Polish People's Republic Wojciech Jaruzelski. The second session was chaired by the head of the delegation of the Socialist Republic of Romania Nicolae Ceauşescu.

Topical problems of the struggle to avert the danger of a nuclear war, to preserve and consolidate the process of relaxation of international tension, to strengthen security and develop cooperation in Europe are being discussed at the meeting.

The meeting is attended by Commander in Chief of the Joint Armed Forces of the Warsaw Treaty Member-States, Marshal of the Soviet Union Viktor Kulikov. Deputy Foreign Minister of the Czechoslovak Socialist Republic Dušan Spáčil attends at the meeting to the duties of general secretary of the Political Consultative Committee of the Warsaw Treaty member-states.